Free Printables: Darth Vader and Storm Trooper Hand Embroidery Patterns!

In college my friends and I were obsessed with a board game… Star Wars Epic Duels. They don’t make it anymore or I would tell everyone in the world to go out and buy it. We got embarrassingly into this game. It was serious business.  It is a basic light-side versus dark-side game and when we played, people tended to stay on one side or the other forever. In fact, we knew our time to play this game was coming to a close, because the dude who owned it was getting married…so we decided to have one last epic battle. We decided the date of the last game and the two teams got ready. Light-side came with matching t-shirts and Dark-side…my side…painted our faces in either Emperor or Darth Maul…he was big at the time and we wore dark sweatshirts. Here is a picture I dug up from Facebook. 252349_503359422749_8429_n

This is the education my parents wanted me to gain, isn’t it?

We lost. Hard to believe but we did.

I am really getting sidetracked…the point of all this is I have for you a Darth Vader (or Dark Vader according to my 4-year-old) and his Stormtrooper.

20160613_161726 (2)

I really enjoyed seeing Darth Vader come to life as I stitched him.

20160613_161706

Seeing him simplified and embroidered made him seem so much nicer. He shouldn’t be cute, I know, but he is and I love him for it. There are three french knots around his mouth triangle and a very small amount of satin stitching on his chest piece. As you will find, my go-to stitches are backstitch and running stitch. I use them often because I think they add character to my pieces. For my taste, those two stitches can be different sizes and imperfect and the image feels comforting to me. However, if you prefer chain-stitching, rope stitching or any others, I am sure they would look great as well. 

20160613_162039

Have you seen that Phineas and Ferb Star Wars episode? We watched it for a family movie night once and that is how the love of Star Wars began for our kids. Thanks, Phineas. Thanks, Ferb. This stormtrooper reminds me of Buford in that show. He is a little short and chunky but he still has an attitude.

Because Stormtroopers are white and black, I really did not want to stitch him on white muslin and only use black. I opted for a grey calico fabric instead. I used some tracing paper I got from Hobby Lobby to transfer the pattern, but I wouldn’t really recommend it. Transferring patterns to fabric is my least favorite part of embroidery so I want it to be easy. I guess the transferring part was easy, but the results and stitching it afterwards, were anything but easy.

stormtrooper_transfer

 

See what I mean? This tracing paper left faint lines that rubbed off easily while you embroidered making it hard to tell where your next line was. I also did not enjoy the horizontal and vertical lines made by the crease in the tracing paper. It muddled the lines that did transfer. Maybe I’ll try carbon paper next time. I have seen other bloggers like Sublime Stitching recommend it.

I used a lot of satin stitch with this guy. I really liked the bold effect of outlining the black satin stitch with a white backstitch. The middle has some french knots. I would love to see your creations! Feel free to email me or leave a photo in the comment section.

So go on, join the Dark Side…

Download Darth Vader PDF pattern Here
Download Stormtrooper PDF pattern Here

Colors of Floss I used:

Darth Vader: 310-black ~ 334-blue ~ 321-red ~ 645-grey

Stormtrooper: 310-black ~ B5200-snow white

Leave a Reply

