8 Steps to Some MARVELous DIY Beanbags

My husband’s family goes on a camping trip together every year, so I thought it would be great to make and take beanbags for the kids to play with around the campsite. NOT the campfire…the campSITE. There will be plenty of fun for the kiddos to have in the great outdoors, but sometimes it is nice to have a few planned activities up your sleeve for when the “crankies” or “boredoms” come.

So let’s makes some! This project features the stitch of the week: the blanket stitch. If you need to brush up check out my previous post.

This project is VERY inexpensive and SUPER easy. If you want you can even speed it up with a glue gun, but I enjoy the embroidery…shocker.

IMG_2066 - Copy - Copy

You Will Need:

  • Felt in various colors (since I am not planning on keeping these as heirlooms I am using the cheap craft felt but feel free to use the fancy wool kind if you want)
  • Embroidery thread in various colors
  • Sewing pins
  • Sewing scissors
  • Paper scissors (heaven help the person who uses my sewing scissors on paper!)
  • Bean Bag Filler…I used dried pinto beans because they are cheap and big enough to not fall through the blanket stitching I did around the beanbag
  • patterns (download the free ones I made here)

Step 1: Cut out the pattern

IMG_2075

Step 2: Pick felt for the front and back of your beanbag, pin the pattern to it, and cut

Step 3: Cut the pattern in pieces, largest to smallest, pin to the appropriate color of felt, and cut

Step 4: On the circle that will be the front of your bean bag, pin the 1st layer and stitch with a running stitch. I used all six strands of embroidery floss, to give it a chunky look.IMG_2101 - Copy - Copy

Step 5: Continue with remaing layers, matching the embroidery floss to the piece of felt you are adding to the beanbag.

Step 6: Place the front and back pieces of the bean bag together and do a blanket stitch around leaving about 2-3 inches to fill with beans

IMG_2112 - Copy - Copy

Step 7: FILL WITH BEANS! My kiddos love helping with this part! (I love having projects I can do with my cuties!)

Step 8: Pin shut the opening and finish the blanket stitching

IMG_2117 - Copy - Copy

All that is left to do now is line them up and admire them…haha my kids didn’t think that was the next step. They immediatley wanted to play with them, try and juggle them, throw them, or carry them around in a backpack. See that little hand down there trying to sneak in and grab one?

IMG_2120

So here you have 5 beanbags with the symbols of some well loved Marvel superheros! Captain America, Hulk, Spiderman, Thor and Iron Man.

IMG_2138 - Copy - Copy

I just love them! They are a cute, easy, cheap, fun way to have some playtime with your littles! I do want to give you a little more information about Spiderman though…he is probably the trickiest, but he is SO worth it!

IMG_2128 - Copy - Copy

Before putting on the eyes, I made a french knot in the middle of the circle. Then I pinned a straight piece of paper to the circle resting just beside it. I did that three more times. Then I did a backstitch to connect those lines together, dipping down a little in the middle. Let me know if you have questions about this. Sometimes I wonder if I makes sense…Also, I did not make an extra line on the pattern for the black felt behind Spiderman’s eyes. I just cut around it a little bit bigger than the line on the pattern says for the eyes.

IMG_2140 - Copy - Copy

I hope you can enjoy making these as much as I did! These could be a great gift or part of a fun game at a superhero party, or just something you pull out when the crankies come. Let me know what you think!

 

3 thoughts on “8 Steps to Some MARVELous DIY Beanbags

Leave a Reply

